Hello, Percy

Ok, it’s not normal to name your camera. And to name two of them, well, don’t tell me, I know.

But here’s Percy – he’s a cheeky little 35mm camera. If he was a person, he’d look like Leslie Phillips – good looking in his time, getting older, wiser but still with a twinkle in his eye. He’d wear a camel coat and a tweedy flat cap. He’d be dapper and a little out of style but his devil may care attitude means he’d pull it off. Maybe I should have called him Leslie, but that didn’t fit.
The stile in the corner
To be fair, I haven’t given Percy a proper run for his money – the first roll was shot in a rush to try him out, mostly indoors and at low light. This lot are from 5 year expired film that I’ve brought back to life a bit with a bit of added punch and contrast in Lightroom.
tree
But not bad, eh? Especially considering that the light wasn’t always the best. And I’m still struggling to do without a depth of field preview and working with 1980s metering that doesn’t have  fancy matrix or spot settings.

I wish I could show you the shot of the perfect snowflake I took on one of the macro lenses. Only I messed up the focus so it’s an impression rather than a pin sharp outline.

I have no doubt that Percy can do it though. I just need to get my eye in and have a bit more luck next time with a snowflake I can actually get to without shaking all the snow off the tree.

I had a bit more luck on Abney Moor when I used the macro setting on my zoom lens and lay down in the wet grass to get this shot.

Droplets

And as Percy risked a drenching on that day to bring you this shot, he’d be grateful if you clicked through to the original photo and had a quick look at the original size. Ignore the scobby white dots – that’s dust I didn’t get rid of in the scanning process, and admire the sharpness of the droplets of dew that Percy picked out so well for you.

7 thoughts on “Hello, Percy

  1. Pingback: 20th Jan – Benfoto | Vladography

Leave a comment

