1,000 words a day

Just when I’d made a decision to concentrate more on writing (and blog more about it) Debbie Ridpath Ohi came to my aid with her 1,000 words a day challenge.

Now I’ve completed Nanowrimo twice, and that’s 50,000 words in 28 days (which is getting on for twice as much) so I know I can write to a word count.

But 1,000 a day for the foreseeable future – that would be a challenge for most people and I’m no exception to that.

Flowers from me garden

I made a pact with myself to take part just as soon as I found the time. But the trouble with ‘just as soon as’ is that it usually means it ain’t going to happen. Debbie posted a reminder on her blog today and I’m proud to say I’ve turned never into now by writing a 1,000 word short story. But will I be able to keep it up tomorrow and the day after and the day after that?

I’ll let you know.

9 thoughts on “1,000 words a day

  1. Hm, I hadn’t thought of the “NaNoWriMo, except forever” aspect of it.

    Then again, if one wrote all the time, like I used to do nigh-compulsively in high school, it wouldn’t feel like a chore and would be easy to do, wouldn’t it?

    • One reason why I’m keeping quiet. Nanowrimo is one thing, but without a reason to put myself through that torture… I am setting goals and writing (almost) every day though, so it has started something.

  2. Like when you’re on a long run, make little goals. Get to the next tree. Run to the top of the hill. When you get there, you’ll probably keep going. Don’t worry about running all those miles at once. And don’t worry about 365,000 words in the next year. If you just type that next sentence, it’ll probably get you to a new one. And you’ll keep on going.

    • Al, you’re so right. When I’m out climbing up a mountainside, I do exactly that, count steps or give myself a goal, a tree or rock where I can pause for a couple of breaths. Soon enough you’re at the top when you look back down you can see exactly how much you achieved.

Leave a comment

