Five questions for Bill Gates

If Microsoft acquires Yahoo and takes Flickr under its wing:
Marken

  1. Will I be forced to switch logins again?
  2. Will I be locked out Flickr when my Hotmail account has been frozen because I don’t use it for email?
  3. Will I be locked out of Flickr and have to reactivate my account because of significant changes to my system, say using a new browser?
  4. And while we’re on the subject will I only be able to view Flickr using MS Internet Explorer?
  5. Will my pc be forced to download regular updates to Microsoft Flickr uploader because of security vulnerabilities?

Just asking.

What are your 5 questions?

5 comments

  1. Excellent questions Debra. If you track how these major corporations consolidate wealth, it is easy to see how the rich get richer. At&T is another good example. Although they offer incentives for ‘bundling’ home and long distance phone service, celluar phone service, internet service, and satellite television, how much of my money do they really need. When I originally signed contracts for these services, they were held by seperate entities, now they all fall under the big AT&T umbrella. It’s certainly something to think about.

  2. How about why they actually want Yahoo. Unfortunately the answer sounds like to crush Google.

    Buying Yahoo is unlikely going to get them there. However, it will almost certainly distract MS from the one thing it once did reliably: ship an Operating System and Office productivity suite every few years, which accounted for 80 percent of its profits.

    But hey, they focused on Vista for five year and managed to make it less usable than its predecessor, probably because they obsessed on beating Google instead of actually making software. Now they will be a larger, slower company and filled with techs and managers who long abhorred Microsoft. And still the goal remains the same.

    Mmm. Like spreading caramel over mayonnaise.

    As for Flickr, I expect thrice daily updates and IE only support.

  3. Tricia _ I know what you mean. It scares me to think that one day there might be this one big company we have to go to for everything.

    Sam – I couldn’t have put it better myself. I still use windows at home, and it pisses me off no end that I have to upgrade from time to time but when I do the upgrade sucks.

    rashbre – do you think Bill knows about that?

    Jeremy – 😀

Leave a comment

