Nanowrimo day 26

When I hit the 50,000 word bar, something changed.

I had a moment of elation, but since then it’s been hard to keep motivated.

Now, just shy of 60,000 and with 2 1/2 chapters to finish, at times it’s like pulling teeth.

The writing’s still fun, once I get started, but it’s hard to get going.

It could be that I don’t want to get to the end of this novel – there’s a satisfaction at reaching the end of the novel, but afterwards I start to miss the characters who’ve populated my imagination. And this lot are so interesting, it feels too soon to leave them behind.

6 thoughts on “Nanowrimo day 26

  1. If it can be of comfort, I’m having the exact same problem. I’m not sure what causes it, perhaps because it’s the first time I’m about to complete a full novel (other than the one I had written when I was 12, which sucked big time anyway). I rushed to 50k in 20 days, and now my rythm has dwindled. It may be that we both have the same problem. I don’t want to put my characters on the shelf, so to say.

    I keep myself motivated by thinking of potential short stories I’ll have the opportunity to write afterwards, for all the aspects of these characters I couldn’t develop in the novel. Of course, I run the risk of wanting to write these instead, but c’est la vie, as we say here.

    I don’t care how much sweat I must pour into it, but I WILL finish this novel. Even if it sucks. Especially if it sucks. I guess next year, I’ll aim for more than 50k, to make sure I stay motivated!

  2. Strangely enough, I’m in a similar state now as I approach the end.

    However, I’ve decided to do a ‘grand reprise’ sort of finish so that the (ahem) surviving characters have some sort of idea about doing something further together. I think it will be a neat way to park then and could set the stage for a sequel.

    This is the first time I’ve done anything like this, and unlike the people who were somewhat prepared and had some background, I just decided to crash into it.

    Now I’ve got the ‘raw footage’, as it were, I will rather more systematically work back through it and try to turn it into something half reasonable.

    Then I shall look for a couple of friendly critics to exchange novels with, on the basis of ‘building and supporting behaviour!’

    Great to see you have made it, and thanks for your kind words of encouragement to me along the way.

    rashbre

  3. Congratulations! That’s truly an accomplishment! And don’t worry. I’m sure you’ll have to dive back into the m/s and do some editing/revising. And maybe if the characters are compelling, you’ll bring them back in a second novel?! Maybe next year?

Comments are closed.