Nanowrimo survival tips 2 – Break it down

The prospect of writing 50,000 words in one month can be daunting, but if you break it down into a series of smaller goals- it will become achievable .

1667 words a day sounds like a lot, but not impossible.

Monte Rosa Hut
Climbing a mountain is just a series of steps.

Break that down even further – I went for 500 words before work, 500 before dinner, and another 600 after as my goal.

Keep track of your progress – here’s my Nanowrimo count spreadsheet for last year. I hardly wrote anything some days, but I always knew how much I had to write to get back on track.

Note The spreadsheet works out your progress, based on a target of 1667 words a day. It recalculates your daily target according to how far ahead or behind you are. Please use it if it helps (just delete the actual word count entries before you start.)

