Stopped by police for being barefoot

My goal for today was to get all the way round my barefoot run without any comments.

I wouldn’t mind the comments so much if I could understand them. Last time a cyclist told me off because he almost ran over my feet – I was on the pavement at the time. This time, nobody said a word. Perhaps they just thought I was crazy.

I don’t know why people find it so strange, in a city where it’s acceptable to skate on the roads wearing nothing but a gold g-string, and where men can wear mini skirts and fishnet stockings, but they do. No comments, but a lot of stares and people giving me a wide berth, especially on my walking breaks.

On the final section and during another walking break, watching the gulls and herons wheel across the canal, I was congratulating myself on the lack of comments .

Just then a pair of policewomen on mountain bikes came towards me. They took one look at my feet, stopped and spoke to me. I had a pretty good idea what they were asking, but not enough vocabulary to reply in Dutch.

“I was asking why you were walking around in bare feet.”

“Actually I’m learning to run barefoot because it’s good for your feet.” The policewoman gave a relieved smile.

“Oh, OK – I thought you might be sick or something. Have a nice day.”

So apparently it’s OK to run barefoot in Amsterdam – but walking barefoot means you’re sick.

Distance – 3.5 k

2 thoughts on “Stopped by police for being barefoot

  1. Pingback: A Passion for Running » how to tell if one leg is shorter than the other

Comments are closed.