The importance of good advice

On today’s run, I noticed a marked improvement:

  • I ran further
  • There was less pounding sensation in my heels
  • My feet felt less sensitive
  • My perceived effort (and heart rate) was lower
  • My bare feet surprised a pair of cyclists so much that they nearly collided.

After the last run, I got a ton of advice from other barefoot runners. One of the things that made the biggest difference were the comments about over striding –

Stop biting off distance and lean into your run instead.

said Ryan.

Kind of like trying to bite at food, by lunging our heads forward, instead of waiting for our food to be shoved into our mouths. Let the food come to your mouth. Let the ground come to your feet.

said Ken Bob.

These visual descriptions made me understand exactly what I was doing – I thought I’d eliminated over striding but suddenly I saw why I hadn’t – and help me correct it.

I also went through the Chi running concepts before I went out. So much of Chi running overlaps with the barefoot form, but with barefoot running I get the feedback that was missing when I ran in shoes. I thought I’d eliminated heel-striking, too, but I was mistaken.

It’s not perfect by any means, I still have a lot of work to do. But barefoot running is beginning to make sense to my body as well as my mind.

Distance 2.2km.

3 thoughts on “The importance of good advice

  1. I’m really intrigued by this barefoot running. Years ago I ran both track and cross country, and now that I’m done having babies, I’m hoping to get back into it again. I have extremely wide, flat feet (no practical arch to speak of) and have always been troubled by the arch supports in running shoes. I’m wondering if barefoot might be the answer for me, as well. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us!

  2. Hey, I found your site from a Google search someone used to find my site. I followed the link they used and found your blog. I have to say I really dig it! The colors, the layout, and of course the content.

    I’ve started getting into barefoot running not too long ago and I’m discovering how wonderful it is. I’m not really a true runner, as in run every day, but I do like to do it. I read an offhand remark a guy was quoted to have said in an article I was reading about how runners’ feet would be much better off if they ran barefoot, so I was intrigued. Pretty much the things you’re discovering I’m discovering too. My lower leg muscles feel so much stronger after running barefoot, and I feel more stable while walking too. I’m a thin guy but I feel like Superman after running barefoot, haha.

    Anyway, just had the urge to comment on your cool blog, especially since I love barefoot running. Do you mind if I add you to my blog roll?

Comments are closed.