Barefoot is good for you

I’ve not been able to run for a while – mainly due to a bout of flu that I’ve been told can last a month 😦 .

In the meantime I’ve been reading up on barefoot running and even found a medical site (The Physician and Sportsmedicine Online) that advises running barefoot to help with plantar fasciitis.

Most medical advice I’ve seen (or been given) for PF is not to go barefoot, ever. It’s good to find something I’ve learned by listening to my body, being offered as medical opinion.

2 comments

  1. Hi Debra.
    Hope you get well sooner than expected.
    I thought the article was good, but wondered about two contradictory pieces of advice…running barefoot while you’re healing and then avoiding weight bearing activities when you’re back to training. I know from experience that the heel stretches are very, very helpful.

  2. Sorry to hear you’ve been sick Debra! I hope you are feeling better now. I’ve always believed that I know more about my own body than any doctor ever could. It sounds like you’re doing a great job of listening to yours (body) and doing what’s right for it.

Comments are closed.