Awards

I was recently invited to an award ceremony in London. My story was selected for publication in an anthology because of its ‘excellent treatment of the theme’.

The story was written some time ago and workshopped at an online critique group of talented and widely published women writers, I’m not sure it’s one of my best, but.

So, how was the ceremony?

Well – Some of the stories were read out by actors. I wasn’t sure whether I was pleased or disappointed that mine wasn’t read; I sat between two whose works were read out and they seemed to enjoy the experience, but I think it would be weird, the actor would be bound to see things in it that I hadn’t intended. On the other hand, one of the writers laughed a lot at her story – maybe it was fun to find it was as hilarious as she’d meant it to be (it was very funny).

